2015 Edublogs Teacher Challenge Step 6

challengelogo

I am participating in the 2015 Edublogs Teacher Challenge

http://teacherchallenge.edublogs.org/personal-blogging/

This series is for educators who want to have their own personal blog where they document their learning, share their teaching practices or use to create a portfolio of their work.
Each week I will be sent emails consisting of a link to the content to read, as well a task to complete as part of the challenge.

Step 6 relates to Images, Copyright and Creative Commons

Images form a very important part of blog posts for me.
Images for my new blog, Personas Profiles and Portraits, will probably mostly be my own photographs or images I have created to ensure that I am the owner of the images.
Photos for Personas , Profiles and Portraits are taken either with the camera or iPad and are modified using MS Paint, PhotoFiltre or AShampoo Photo Commander.

persona dolls representing gifted students

Photos Jo Freitag

The images which I create for my Sprite’s Site blog are usually made in MS Paint, sometimes incorporating clip art images or my own photos.
Many years ago I did purchase three CD collections of public domain clip art and the original image of the character of Sprite came from one of these clip art CDs.

Images Jo Freitag

Images Jo Freitag

I used to include images from the PowerPoint collection but I have found that in some cases images which used to be included in that collection are no longer available.
In 2014 I participated in INKtober
drawing challenge by doing one ink drawing a day the entire month. I drew almost all the characters from Sprite’s Site in ink during that month and it has provided an extra set of images for Sprite’s Site.
Sprite’s Site blog celebrates its birthday in June and I often use that and Christmas as opportunities to depict the full set of characters. It is becoming harder as the number of characters increases. The header for Sprite’s Site blog shows the Birthday gathering from 2012.
Below is the 2015 gathering – some of the groups are missing from the picture.

Image Jo Freitag

Image Jo Freitag

The Twitter birds on Sprite’s Site were adapted from  birds in a set of free Twitter Bird icons available at www.productivedreams.com
Twitter Bird Bowers have been set up on Sprite’s Site to house the 100 plus musicians, poets, scientists and pirates

Image Jo Freitag

Image Jo Freitag

I mostly use MS Paint to create my images but sometimes I also use PowerPoint or Scratch for rotating or modifying the images and sometimes I use other drawing programs such as ArtRage or Autodesk Sketchbook. If I am using the iPad I create images in Drawing Desk, Sketches Pro, Art Set or Paper 53 and send the images to Dropbox.

To create animated GIFs I use Coffee Cup Animation Studio or Giftedmotion 1-2-3 Jar
Here are some animated GIFs I created
https://spritessite.wordpress.com/2010/07/01/a-topiary-tessellation-bird-leaf-tree-for-all-seasons/
https://spritessite.wordpress.com/2012/12/14/pa-rum-pa-pa-pum/
https://spritessite.wordpress.com/2009/11/20/memory-elephant-usb-morph/
I do use Scratch for animation but have not used it for the blog as yet. I enjoy using cartoon creation programs such as MakeBeliefsComix and ToonDoo

makebeliefs

And I also enjoy using Avatar makers and Flash Face
https://spritessite.wordpress.com/2011/03/05/avatar-album/
https://spritessite.wordpress.com/2012/04/05/avatar-album-2/
On Sprite’s Site blog I sometimes use Tag cloud generators such as Wordle or Mindmapping tools such as Inspiration, Tony Buzan’s iMindMap, Mindjet, Spicy Nodes and bubbl.us and I can imagine using those on Personas Profiles and Portraits as well
An example of the use of Mindmapping can be seen at
https://spritessite.wordpress.com/2010/11/23/imaginational-dabrowski-counsel-for-the-defence-2/

argumentsmap

FEEDBACK for Step 6

feedbackstep6

Leave a Reply

